Marriage

Writing Prompt Day 6

Eye Contact: Write about two people seeing each other for the first time.

I look over at the boy sitting next to me in the car. He tells me about how excited he is for me to have finally taken him up on his offer to take me out for the night. He weaves in and out of the traffic, blending into the growing congestion that begins to build down K street. He stops at a light and looks over at me. He gives me a big smile and squeezes my hand. I never noticed those deep dimples in his cheek.
How have I never noticed?
I study his face, curious as to how I missed seeing all those details of his face in high school. His oddly perfectly shaped eyebrows. The way his eyes turn into twinkling half moons when he smiles. The way that dimple transforms his face to ooze childlike joy.
And this is when I first see him. Truly.
More than the boy that doodled on my Anatomy notebooks. More than the friend I watched the sunrise with after studying all-nighters.
In that moment, those dimples changed my life forever.
I wonder when he truly saw me.

Standard

Leave a comment